Hello world!

I suppose I should start with an introduction. My name is Jantzen Teague. I just finished my sophomore year at Harding University. I am currently unsure of my major, but I am leaning toward journalism or public relations. I am getting ready to hop on a plane to spend the summer in Europe as part of the Harding University Florence (HUF) program. I’ve been debating blogging this summer and I was encouraged by multiple people to do it, so here I am.

The hardest part of blogging so far has been coming up with a creative name…as you all can see, I settled on “Flying Purple People Watcher”. How did I come to that conclusion, you might ask? As my life goes, I was in a panic over having the perfect name (yes, I realize that it is just a blog and is not actually that important but anxiety took hold of me yet). In a span of about 15 minutes, I texted my boyfriend, Max, and asked for his help, and together we brainstormed. After pondering a number of options, we came across the concept of the one-eyed, one-horned, flying purple people eater. Well I don’t have one eye, I have four. I don’t have any horns. And I don’t eat people. However, I do love purple! And what better way to document my travels than to talk about flying and people watching? Plus, let’s be honest, at least half of my travel wardrobe will include something purple. All of this to say I settled on the name Flying Purple People Watcher. Dawson has already expressed his dislike for it, but I think it’s cute, and that is the least important part of this blog anyway.

I mentioned that I was planning on blogging as a way of holding myself accountable to actually going through with it, and I again state my intentions to post updates, thoughts, experiences, and pictures of gelato (just for you, Gramps!) as I spend my summer living in Italy and traveling Europe! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

